District 2 Commissioners


Commissioner Sandra Frost

Sandra Frost is a 2nd term Alameda County Public Health Commissioner, representing District 2, and serves on the Oral Health Subcommittee. She was born and raised in San Jose, California, and is a graduate of San Jose State University with a BA in History. Her public service experience includes: Being with the Eden Area Food Alliance (formerly Ashland Cherryland Food Council Policy) since 2010; Coordinator with Hayward Community Gardens 2010-2015; All In Alameda County Food Recovery pilot project 2015-2017; Ashland Cherryland Healthy Community Collaborative. Her urban farmer training includes graduation from the ALBA Organic Farmer Certificate Program, Agroecology short course certification from UC Berkeley, Bay Area Farmer Training Program (BAFTP) Incubator with Multinational Exchange for Sustainable Agriculture (MESA), Permaculture Design certification from Grupo Maya, and apprenticeship with Feral Heart Farm in Sunol. Commissioner Frost believes that food justice and local sustainable food systems are necessary for thriving and vital societal health.

Commissioner Nestor Castillo

Nestor Castillo is a lecturer in the College of Ethnic Studies at San Francisco State University and a columnist for El Tecolote, a bilingual newspaper based in the San Francisco Mission District. Nestor is the son of Salvadoran immigrants and currently lives in the unincorporated community of San Lorenzo in Alameda County.





Commissioner Subru Bhat is a resident of District 2 and serves as the Nominating Committee Chair. He works for the Alameda County Mosquito Abatement District.

Commissioner Roberta Ryan is a resident of District 2.